family, new, parenting, Uncategorized

Time spent with loved ones is time well spent 

I’m lucky enough to be able to work part time. Ever since I left school I’ve been in full time employment, but when Adam came along, I just knew that I wanted to be at home as much as possible!

With the support of my husband, I changed jobs after maternity leave was over. And with the support of my mum, who looks after Adam when I’m at work, I was able to go part time without worrying about hefty childcare costs taking most of my salary!

Being a working mum is difficult. Trying to split your time between working, running a home, being a mum and being a wife is hard. Women have been doing it for years though, my mum managed to hold down a full time job, look after the house and be a super mum all at the same time!

Finding the balance is important. To Adam, it’s not about how much money we make and spend on him. All he cares about is having us spending time with him. With our shifts, it’s not always possible to have proper family time.

So that’s why we try to make the most of the time that we do get! This weekend, we were lucky enough to both be off (this NEVER happens!) I’ll apologise now for the beach, park and goodness knows what else that will be spammed on my Instagram feed. But my goodness, isn’t family time just great for the soul?!

On Saturday, we took a trip to my husband’s family caravan in Waterfoot. Six members of the family all have caravans on the same site, and most people on the site have been there since Philip was a child, so you’re always guaranteed to run in to somebody you know! Luckily, this weekend near enough his whole family were down, that meant plenty of cousins for Adam to play with. (It also meant plenty of adults to watch the kids playing so hubby and I could steal a rare 5 minutes alone with a cuppa!)

He was all proud of himself for scoring goals

We played football, played rugby, splashed  in the sea, built sandcastles, ate ice cream and chased ducks (Adam, not me 🙈) We even got to watch some dirt bikers do their thing on the beach! And no trip to the seaside would be complete without chips in the paper.. Slimming world starts again today!

He can’t even go in to the sea without bringing a car with him…

The sun was shining and it really was a perfect day!

Philip and I actually got engaged when we were on a trip to the caravan 6 years ago! The place doesn’t just hold so many memories for Philip, growing up and spending his childhood summers there. But also for me, as it’s where I said, “YES!” to the man of my dreams!

Waterfoot Beach – our second home!

This weekend cost us less than a fiver for a portion of chips and a few ice-creams (minus the diesel used)! And, if I’m honest, it’s been one of the best!

For Adam, being outdoors playing and having both his parents there, is what makes him happy.. along with a biscuit or two 😜… And that’s all that matters!

A weekend well spent brings a week of content… And this mama is hoping for no tantrums this week!

A girl can dream…

Emma xx

Leave a Reply

