family, new, parenting, Uncategorized

Mum friends

As a child, you could walk up to your chosen human and say, “Do you want to be my friend?” And if they said yes, then that was that. Best friends forever, well, until you fell out over a boy/whose turn it was to do something/etc.

As an adult, it just doesn’t work like that.

I have a very small group of friends. A group that I treasure and trust with my entire life. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy with my friends, they wouldn’t be in my life if I wasn’t! But sometimes, I just wish I had more ‘Mum friends.’

Friends that just get it when you’re having a bad day, and can sympathise with the tantrums.

Friends that also have to plan ahead for trips out.. Is there somewhere for my child to get suitable food, do I have nappies, wipes, a drink, a change of clothes, a muslin cloth, a toy car… Or ten… The list goes on!

Friends that understand that you can’t keep to the plans you made as your little one needs you.. But they still ask you out the next time.

Since becoming a mum, I’ve noticed my invitations to head out for a drink, or to be involved in nights out, have dramatically reduced. Yes, there are many nights when I can’t get out as my husband works late. There are many nights when I don’t want to go out, and all I want to do is be at home with my family. Yet it seems that people forget that you’re still you, even though you are ‘Mum’ too!

We still enjoy having time off from being mum too!

I am quite an introvert, I’ve always been that way. Making friends and even starting conversations has never come easily to me. I tried the baby classes, I tried the mums & tots groups. But yet, here I am, without my mum ‘tribe’ that everyone talks so much about.

So, how are we supposed to make mum friends?

On Instagram, I like to think I have made some!  It’s a fantastic place for meeting like minded people. There really is a wonderful community of Mums on Instagram, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t so grateful for the ones I follow and class as friends. They’ve been invaluable to me during my journey through parenthood, especially in the past year!

Can we muddle through this parenthood journey with just friends that we talk to online?

Do you have your ‘Mum tribe?’ How did you find them? I’m sure I’m not the only one in this position, motherhood can be lonely at times!

I’ll always have my beautiful boy, and he’s my best friend. Sometimes, however, it would be nice to have more adult conversations and not just chats about cars, animals and farts 🙈

Emma xx

1 thought on “Mum friends”

Leave a Reply

