family

Now you are two… 

This time 2 years ago, I was getting my last minute bits and pieces packed to go to the hospital to be induced. I don’t think I quite grasped how much my life was going to change, for the better of course! I went in as a wife, a daughter and a friend, but 3 days later I left as a mother. 

I always had my guesses about what motherhood would be like: I’d read the books, attended the parent craft classes. But I don’t think anything could prepare me for the changes I was about to experience. 

I’ve become a better version of me, the version that puts one little person before herself,  in everything she does. The version that understands that sometimes it’s ok to do iPad parenting and to feed your children beige food. The version that strives to make each day happy for someone other than herself. 

I’ve learnt to be more patient; That sometimes he isn’t being ‘bad’ and that he’s just struggling to express himself. 

I’ve learnt to be more understanding. Understanding that to him, I am everything. When he cries in the middle of the night, he just wants love from his mummy. Understanding that his tantrums are (sometimes) the only way he can express himself. 

I’ve learnt to be more loving. The minute my precious little bundle was placed in to my arms, I just knew I’d never felt a love more strong in all of my life. Two years on, I still feel that way… Every single day. My love has grown. Each day I find a new thing to love about him, even more so than the last! 

My tiny, squishy faced newborn has been replaced by my big, handsome, loving and mischievous little boy. 

The past two years have been a roller-coaster of emotions. There have been times that I’ve felt that I’ve got this parenting thing sussed. That I am Supermum. There have been times when I question what I’m doing wrong, and doubt that I’m cut out for being a mum. 

There are perfect days, and there are not so perfect days. And that’s OK with me. Each day that we are blessed with Adam, is a little bit more perfect than the day before. 

And now he is 2. How have two years passed already? They say time flies when you’re having fun. How true is that statement? Watching the tiny human that you created grow, learn how to roll, how to crawl, walk, talk and everything else in between is magical! 

I’m excited to see how he gets on at school, excited to see what he ends up doing with his life, excited to watch him grow further and explore the big bad world on his own. But for now, I’m enjoying helping him, nurturing him and teaching him how to be the best version of himself, just as he has taught me. 

Emma xx

Leave a Reply

